[Mageia-discuss] Google, yahoo, Hotmail and Flickr accounts

nicolas vigier boklm at mars-attacks.org
Tue Sep 21 23:28:44 CEST 2010

On Tue, 21 Sep 2010, David W. Hodgins wrote:

> On Mon, 20 Sep 2010 19:15:05 -0400, Lawrence A Fossi <darkfoss at comcast.net> wrote:
>> It's inevitable that Mageia would be claimed on some accounts.. a quick Google turned up 1 US business 1 guy on Twitter
>> and a second with JA-Mageia..all on page 1 of the search
>> http://sites.google.com/site/johnwellssr/home
> Ouch!  Is this a show stopper for the name mageia?
> http://mageia.com/

No, it's not a problem. It is not the same domain at all, there is no
confusion possible between the two.

> The domain was registered in 2001, with the ownership hidden
> by Domains by Proxy.  The sites.google.com, and the
> "Recent Site Activity" link on mageia.com shows it's
> being maintained by "John Wells Sr".
> Note that the logo consists of the site name in a stylized
> script, with the phrase "Isn't it magic", as the "future Web
> home for Mageia Minerals of Chassell, Michigan".  The site
> consists of a single page hosted on sites.google.com.  The
> recent activity indicates it was all created July 26th, 2010.
> While mageia.org is not the same as mageia.com, I expect
> a lot of users are going to accidentally go to the wrong
> site.

When you type "mageia" on google, mageia.org is already the first
result, so I don't think it will be a big problem.


More information about the Mageia-discuss mailing list